LCLUC 2014 Webinar Series-Urban Inter-Disciplinary Studies(IDS)

The 2014 LCLUC Webinar Series featured LCLUC Urban Inter-Disciplinary Studies (IDS) projects. LCLUC IDS Studies exploit the vast wealth of new data from NASA satellite sensors (as well as related non-NASA sensors) relevant to interdisciplinary research on interactions among components of the Earth system, promote interdisciplinary research in topic areas of continued interest, particularly those identified as emerging science areas in the Strategic Plan of the U.S. Climate Change Science Program, the CCSP Revised Research Plan for the U. S. Climate Change Science Program, and the U.S. Ocean Action Plan; and pursue innovative interdisciplinary research in new topical areas.


 

Thursday November 6, 2014 Time: 11:00 AM EST (10:00 AM CST, 8:00 AM PST)--Details

 
 
Presenter: Dr. Douglas Stow
Professor, Department of Geography
San Diego State University

The Urban Transition in Ghana and Its Relation to Land Cover and Land Use Change Through Analysis of Multi-Scale and Multi-Temporal Satellite Image Data.

 
Presenter: Dr. Geoffrey Henebry
Co-Director of the Geo-spatial Sciences Center of Excellence and Professor of Natural Resource Management
South Dakota State University

Storms, Forms, and Complexity of the Urban Canopy: How Land Use, Settlement Patterns, and the Shapes of Cities Influence Severe Weather


 

Tuesday October 14, 2014 Time: 11:00 AM EST (10:00 AM CST, 8:00 AM PST)--Details

 
Presenter:

Dr. Bounoua Lahouari
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Biospheric Sciences Branch

Combining Satellite Data and Models to Assess the Impacts of Urbanization on the Continental United States Surface Climate.

 
Presenter:

Dr. Soe Myint
Professor
Arizona State University

Understanding Impacts of Desert Urbanization on Climate and Surrounding Environments to Foster Sustainable Cities Using Remote Sensing and Numerical Modeling


 

Tuesday October 07, 2014 Time: 2:00 PM EST (1:00 PM CST, 11:00 AM PST)--Details

 
Presenter:

Dr. Son Nghiem
Jet Propulsion Laboratory,
California Institute of Technology

Mega Urban Change and Impacts in the Decade of the 2000s

 
Presenter:

Dr. Lucy Hutyra
Department of Earth & Environment
Boston University

4-D Modeling of the Regional Carbon Cycle in and Around Urban Environments: An Interdisciplinary Study to Advance Observational and Modeling Foundations


 

Host: Dr. Garik Gutman
Manager LCLUC Landsat Program Scientist

Summary: Dr. Garik Gutman is Program Manager for the NASA Land-Cover/Land-Use Change (LCLUC) Program. His current research interests include the use of remote sensing for detecting changes in land cover and land use, and analyzing the impacts of these changes on climate, environment and society. His NASA research program helps to develop the underpinning science and promotes scientific international cooperation through supporting the development of regional science networks over the globe under the GOFC-GOLD international program.

Moderator: Catherine Nakalembe
LCLUC Program Assistant

Ms. Catherine Nakalembe is a Doctoral Candidate at the University of Maryland and is the LCLUC Program Assistant.